One elusive situation (working from home)

So, my personal situation has put me in a rather interesting situation.

For those who haven’t yet read the previous posts, here’s a summary: I decided to take a leap of faith and go from the US to South Africa to meet someone I met through an online game. Sounds corny, but it gets better. We’ve now known each other 3 years, so I made the choice to take it a big step further to see how well we get on in person. Long story short, it was totally worth every bit of stress and heartache. However, my situation changed.

Originally, I was going to go for 3 months, then go back to work in the US and then we’d see what the next step would be. Somewhere in the middle of that 3 months, we both decided 3 months was not going to suffice. So I took a risk and applied for temporary residency.

So that leaves me….jobless, and on a very limited (and slowly depleting) budget.

I don’t have the means for a work permit quite yet, nor do I really have any solid offers. So what do I do?

Eventually, it dawned on me that the whole work from home industry has supposedly been growing. However, finding legitimate work was almost impossible last time I checked into it. But, I decided to look into it again.

After doing some research, I stumbled on a blog mentioning oDesk.com (bear in mind, I’m strictly telling this from personal experience, not for compensation). I was a bit skeptic, but I did a lot of reading on the site and found that it was actually perfect for my situation.

It basically takes a bunch of skilled contractors (IT techs, writers, customer service wizards etc) and allows them to try to bid on jobs that clients have listed on the site. Before I go any further, let me say this: when you’re new to oDesk and don’t have any feedback yet, it’s hard as hell to find anything. However, there are plenty of tiny jobs that pay little that you can bid on to gain a rep and some experience.

Now, most of these jobs expect people to work them for a low hourly or fixed rate. So, don’t expect it to be an instant financial solution…..but if you’re unemployed or find yourself anchored to a foreign country (like me), it could be a means to something. But, I have seen contractors who are actually working full time on there and making a decent wage.

Luckily for me, the South African currency is shit, so a lower pay rate is fine with me. Plus, in time I’d be able to demand more (hopefully).

Anyway, it’s not for the lazy types, and takes a lot of patience. But, I’ve finally snagged something part time that will help get the financial ball rolling. Thank God, I was getting scared.

In any case, that’s good for me, because I’d hate to keep seeing money going in one direction (out of my pocket). I still have a lot I want to do in South Africa, like surprise my love with a trip to Cape Town one weekend, or go to see the Drakensburg Mountains for an overnight trip. I’d love to get a nice secluded place to stay and spend some time with him away from it all.

Alright, no more sappiness. I hope you all have a great day. It’s super late here, and I have to get up in a few hours to get ready for the one moment I have been dreading….coming face to face with the evil ex wife.

Eek!

Stay tuned.

About Sara Skinner

I'm a full time home-based professional eager to teach others that professional freedom is out there....just as long as you know to look for it. I also write about my life as a wife, superhero and stepmom.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

