Fast Forward

I know I left you hanging, but I’m back with news.

Everything I was worried about…..well, I didn’t need to be.

Every sacrifice I made was totally worth it.

And, somehow, I’ve found myself happily (if not luckily) in love and exploring a rather unusual relationship.

I ended up making it to South Africa on May 3rd, 2012, sometime after 9:20 pm. Customs did not seem to exist, and I was out of the terminal rather fast. It seemed like the 21 hours of flying and everything went by in a blink of an eye once I saw the object of my interest walk up at the same time I entered the main lobby. It was then that I realized that all of the rough times I encountered since my decision to try to meet this man face to face had been erased.

It’s funny….I had always envisioned meeting someone that I’d only known online (let alone in another country) to be awkward. But the initial meeting had felt completely natural. I was instantly at ease, and we were talking as normally as we had always been.

Within a couple of weeks we were officially dating, and officially a couple within a month. Towards the end of my stay here in South Africa, I made a hasty decision to extend my stay. That meant I left behind the stable job and home to give this budding relationship more time to bear fruit.

I do know I’m wholeheartedly in love, and things were just so smooth that I had to give it a shot. I owed it to myself to live life properly, even if just this once. Too long I had hidden behind fears and worries.

The main issue was figuring a way to sustain a living while I am here. So, I decided to venture into the world of freelance writing, and searching for online customer support and virtual assistant (VA) jobs. The best resource I’ve found for working from home was oDesk.com. They have a plethora of job opportunities for many skillsets that let you bid on paid jobs that are either hourly or a fixed rate. Plus, they have a great feedback system that helps you see who has a good reputation, and their past payment history.

Hopefully that will bear fruit, and I’m keeping my fingers crossed. Have I found my happily ever after? Stay tuned, and we will all find out!

About Sara Skinner

I'm a full time home-based professional eager to teach others that professional freedom is out there....just as long as you know to look for it. I also write about my life as a wife, superhero and stepmom.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

